Boston Ward 5 Democratic Committee

July 19, 2022, Meeting

Due to the declared Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and upon the advice of the State Democratic Party, this monthly meeting of the Boston Ward 5 Democratic Committee was held online via Zoom.

Sharon Durkan (The Chair) called the July meeting to order and led a discussion about the State Democratic Convention.

Treasurer's Report

Rob Whitney presented the Treasurer's Report. Membership dues are due! If anyone needs a waiver for the fees, please contact Rob or Sharon.

Sharon and Rob reviewed the Ward's policy that fee waivers will be held as confidential. Persons who receive a waiver will just be marked as dues paid. Financial hardship is never a reason to not be involved in the Committee.

The Chair noted the presence of a quorum and asked if anyone wanted to challenge that declaration. Challenges will not be entertained after votes are taken. No one challenged. The Chair continued the meeting.

Membership Matters

Creelea Pangaro qualifies for a membership vote to be an Associated Member. The Committee took a voice vote. Creelea is now an Associate Member.

Armen Youssoufian qualifies for nomination to membership. The Committee took a voice vote. Armen is now nominated for election to Associate Member, which vote will be taken at the September meeting.

Bret Bero qualifies for nomination to membership. The Committee took a voice vote. Bret is now nominated for election to Associate Member, which vote will be taken at the September meeting.

Candidates

Sheriff Tompkins – Suffolk County Sheriff Election

Running for re-election to Suffolk County Sheriff. Sheriff Tompkins addressed the Committee, and then took questions.

Counselor Ricardo Arroyo

Counselor said he just wanted to stop in and say thank you for the panel discussion we sponsored.

Endorsement Considerations

Lt Governor

The candidates are Kim Driscoll, Tami Gouveia, Eric Lesser. The Chair opened the floor for discussion, and the Committee discussed the candidates. Diane Barry moved to close discussion which motion was seconded by Alex Bok. Motion passed. Sharon Durkan moved that we open the floor for nominations, which motion was seconded by Diane Barry. Motion passed. Alex Bok nominated Kim Driscoll, Tami Gouveia and Eric Lesser, which motion was seconded by Kristen Mobilia. Alex Bok moved to close both nominations and discussion, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. The Chair took a roll call vote. No candidate received sufficient votes to reach endorsement. The Ward will not endorse in this race.

Attorney General

The candidates are Shannon Liss-Riordan, Andrea Campbell, and Quentin Palfrey. The Chair opened the floor for discussion. Sharon Durkan moved that we open the floor for discussion, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed, and the Committee discussed the candidates. Diane Barry moved that we close discussion and open the floor for nominations, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. Hilary Bacon-Gabrieli nominated Shannon Liss-Riordan, Andrea Campbell, and Quentin Palfrey, which motion was seconded by Alex Bok. Diane Barry moved to close both nominations and discussion, which motion was seconded by Creelea Pangaro. Motion passed. The Chair took a roll call vote. No candidate received sufficient votes to reach endorsement. The Ward will not endorse in this race.

Secretary of State

The candidates are Tanisha Sullivan and William Galvin. The Chair moved that we open the floor for discussion, which motion was seconded by Diane Barry. Motion passed, and the Committee discussed the candidates. Diane Barry moved that we close discussion and open the floor for nominations, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. Diane Barry nominated Tanisha Sullivan and William Galvin, which motion was seconded by Alex Bok. Motion passed. The Chair took a roll call vote. The Ward 5 Democratic Committee endorses Tanisha Sullivan for the office of Secretary of State.

Suffolk County DA

The candidates are Ricardo Arroyo and Kevin Hayden. Diane Barry moved that we open the floor for discussion, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed, and the Committee discussed the candidates. Diane Barry moved that we close discussion and open the floor for nominations, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. Diane Barry nominated Ricardo Arroyo and Kevin Hayden, which motion was seconded by Rob Whitney. Diane Barry moved to close both nominations and discussion, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. The Chair took a roll call vote. The Ward 5 Democratic Committee endorses Ricardo Arroyo for Suffolk County DA.

Suffolk County Sherriff

The candidates are Steve Tompkins and Sandy Zamor-Calixte. Diane Barry moved that we open the floor for discussion, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed, and the Committee discussed the candidates. Diane Barry moved that we close discussion and open the floor for nominations, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. Sharon Durkan nominated Steve Tompkins and Sandy Zamor-Calixte, which motion was seconded by Kate Gallivan. Motion passed. Diane Barry moved to close both nominations and discussion, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed. The Chair took a roll call vote. The Ward 5 Democratic Committee unanimously endorses Steve Tompkins for Suffolk County Sheriff.

Approval of the Minutes

Diane Barry moved that we approve the June minutes as presented, which motion was seconded by Rob Whitney. Motion passed. The June minutes are accepted.

Announcements

Bob Binney is hosting a fund raiser for Maura Healy next Tuesday night, starting at 5:30 pm. 23 Joy Street. The Chair will share the invitation to the full ward email list.

Rep. Ayanna Pressley is having a fundraiser for abortion rights.

There will be an August event for Chris Dempsey.

Motion to Adjourn

Diane Barry moved to adjourn, which motion was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed and meeting adjourned.

Members	Guests
Pat Amend Hilary Bacon Gabrieli Diane Barry Bob Binney Alex Bok Kenzie Bok Suzanne Comtois Helen Cox David Crossman Sharon Durkan Abigail Gabrieli Kate Gallivan Molly Hitt	Janet Slovin Sandra Singer Armen Youssoufian Ken Scott (nomination vote next time) Sherriff Steve Tompkins Bret Bero

Attendance

Sharon Hucul	
Cynthia Korb	
Jay Livingstone	
Julie Livingstone	
Pat McDonough	
Kristen Mobilia	
Creelea Pangaro	
Susan Smith	
Jon Spillane	
Nancy Street	
Rob Whitney	