Boston Ward 5 Democratic Committee

July 20, 2021 Meeting

Due to the declared Health Emergency in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and upon the advice of the State Democratic Party, this monthly meeting of the Boston Ward 5 Democratic Committee was held online via Zoom.

Sharon Durkan (The Chair) called the July meeting to order.

The Chair announced that there will be an election for a Ward Officer and Executive Committee members at the next meeting, as First Vice Chair Coleman Lynds has moved out of the Ward.

City Councilor Lydia Edwards – City Ballot Question to Change the City Budgeting Process

The city council voted unanimously to send this question to the voters, to make the budgeting process more participatory and transparent, and specifically, to give the city councilors more participation in the process. It will be a check on the strong mayoral system we have in Boston. It will be a YES or NO question on the ballot, and will probably be Question 1.

David Halbert – Candidate for Boston City Councilor At-Large

Candidate Halbert introduced himself and said he would be honored to have our endorsement.

Ruthizee Louijeune – Candidate for Boston City Councilor At-Large

This was her second time meeting with the Ward 5 committee, as we were one of her first stops when she became a candidate. She said she would be honored to have our endorsement.

Jon Spillane – Candidate for Boston City Councilor At Large

Jon has been a member of Ward 5 since 2016. He expressed that it would mean the world to him to have his home ward's endorsement. He asked both for our endorsement, and for our vote at the upcoming primary election.

Kenzie Bok – City Councilor for District 8

This Ward has been her political home, and Councilor Bok said that she's had a wonderful first term on the City Council. She also said that she believes that we're poised for a very transformative year and asked for our endorsement.

Membership Matters

Election to membership: Ben Starr

Alex Bok moved that we elect Ben Starr as an associate member of the committee, which nomination was seconded by Rob Whitney. Motion passed. Ben is now an associate member.

Nominations:

Abigail Gabrieli, Colleen Stadelmann and Shari Fanzetta.

Hilary Bacon-Gabrieli nominated Abigail Gabrieli, which was seconded by Helen Cox. Abigail will be eligible for election to membership at the next meeting she attends.

Colleen Stadelmann nominated by Diane Barry, which was seconded by Kathy Judge. Colleen will be eligible for election to membership at the next meeting she attends.

Helen Cox nominated Shari Fanzetta, which was seconded by Kathy Judge. Shari will be eligible for election to membership at the next meeting she attends.

Treasurer's Report by Bob Binney

We have more than \$5,900 in the bank. We have funding to support the usual election activities such a poll dressing, palm cards, etc.

Meeting Minutes

Kenzie Bok moved that we accept both the May and June minutes as submitted, which motion was seconded by Alex Bok. Motion passed; minutes approved.

Endorsement Consideration

Boston City Councilor – District 8

Kenzie Bok is unopposed.

Diane Barry moved to open the floor to discussion which motion was seconded by Jay Livingstone. The floor was opened; discussion ensued. Diane Barry moved to close discussion, which motion was seconded by Bob Binney. Motion passed; discussion closed. The floor opened for nominations.

Molly Hitt nominated Kenzie Bok for endorsement for Boston City Councilor for District 8, which motion was seconded by Susan Smith. Motion passed. Diane Barry moved to close nominations, which motion was seconded by Jay Livingstone. Motion passed. Nominations were closed.

Alex Bok moved that we vote by acclamation, which was seconded by Jay Livingstone. Motion passed. Kenzie Bok was endorsed by acclamation.

Boston City Councilor – District 2

Ed Flynn is unopposed.

Diane Barry moved to open the floor to discussion which was seconded by Alex Bok. The floor was opened; discussion ensued. Kenzie Bok moved to close discussion, which was seconded by Dan Lyon. Motion passed; discussion closed. The floor opened for nominations.

Diane Barry moved that we endorse Ed Flynn for Boston City Councilor for District 2, which was seconded by Alex Bok. Motion passed. The Chair closed nominations. Alex Bok moved that we vote by acclamation, which was seconded by Sue Smith. Motion passed. Ed Flynn was endorsed by acclamation.

Boston City Councilor at Large

Pat Amend moved that we open the floor for discussion, which was seconded by Helen Cox. The floor opened; discussion ensued. Pat Amend moved to close discussion, which was seconded by Kate Galllivan. Motion passed; discussion closed.

Helen Cox moved that we open the floor to nominations, which was seconded by Kate Gallivan. Motion passed; nominations opened.

Kate Gallivan moved that we nominate the following 14 candidates by acclamation, which was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed.

The 14 candidates are:

- 1. 1. Said Abdikarim
- 2. 2. Kelly Bates
- 3. 3. James Colimon
- 4. 4. Domingos DaRosa
- 5. 5. Michael Flaherty
- 6. 6. Alex Gray
- 7. 7. David Halbert
- 8. 8. Ruthzee Louijeune
- 9. 9. Julia Mejia
- 10. 10. Carla Monteiro
- 11. 11. Erin Murphy
- 12. 12. Bridget Nee-Walsh
- 13. 13. Jon Spillane
- 14. 14. Nicholas Vance

The Chair closed nominations and opened voting. The Chair called the committee members by name and each member voted for up to four candidates. Alex Bok moved to close the voting, which was seconded by Rob Whitney. Motion passed; voting closed. Ruthzee Louijeune and Jon Spillane were endorsed.

Mayor of Boston

The candidates for Mayor of Boston are John Barrows, Andrea Campbell, Anissa Assaibi-George. Michelle Wu.

Dan Lyon moved that we open the floor for discussion, which was seconded by Helen Cox. The floor opened; discussion ensued. Rob Whitney moved to close discussion, which was seconded by Bob Binney. Motion passed; discussion closed.

Diane Barry moved to open the floor to nominations, which was seconded by Helen Cox. Motion passed.

Hilary Bacon-Gabrieli nominated Andrea Campbell for endorsement, which was seconded by Pat Amend.

Rob Whitney nominated Michelle Wu for endorsement, which was seconded by Sue Smith.

Kenzie Bok nominated John Barrows and Anissa Assaibi-George for endorsement, which was seconded by Dan Lyon.

Helen Cox moved that we close nominations, which was seconded by Pat Amend. Motion passed; nominations closed.

The Chair called the committee members by name and each member stated their vote. Michelle Wu was endorsed.

Motion to Adjourn

Alex Bok moved that we adjourn, which was seconded by Diane Barry. Motion passed. The July Meeting was adjourned.

Attendance

Members	Guests
Pat Amend Hilary Bacon Gabrieli Diane Barry Bob Binney Alex Bok Kenzie Bok Lauren Brody Suzanne Comtois Helen Cox David Crossman Sharon Durkan Kathleen Gallivan Molly Hitt Sharon Hucul Katherine Judge Cynthia Korb Landon Lemoine Jay Livingstone Julie Livingstone Kristen Mobilia Dan Lyon Sue Smith Jon Spillane Ben Starr Rob Whitney David Xiao	Shari Franzetta Abigail Gabrieli Sandra Singer Colleen Stadelmann Cecilia Ugarte Baldwin Richard (???) Lydia Edwards David Halbert Ruthizee Louijeune Harper Mills