Boston Ward 5 Democrats Minutes of the Regular Meeting on July 17, 2018

The regular and duly noticed July meeting of the Boston Ward 5 Democratic Committee Meeting was called to order by Chair Kenzie Bok (the Chair).

Membership Matters

Diane Barry moved that John Gabrieli be made a member, which motion was seconded by Hilary Gabrieli and approved unanimously by the members.

Consideration of Endorsement - 7th Congressional District

The Chair recognized Councilor Ayanna Pressley, who spoke about her candidacy for Congress in the 7th Congressional District. She then took questions from Ward members. Congressman Capuano had addressed the Committee at the previous meeting (in June).

Sharon Durkan moved that we open nominations for the 7th Congressional District, which motion was seconded by Alex Bok.

Alex Bok nominated Ayanna Pressley for endorsement, which motion was seconded by Sharon Durkan.

Jay Livingstone nominated Mike Capuano for endorsement, which motion was seconded by Tim Havel.

Sharon Durkan moved that to close nominations, which motion was seconded by Rob Whitney. Motion passed.

Next there was discussion by the Ward, then Alex Bok called for a roll call vote, which motion was seconded by Sharon Durkan. Motion passed.

After votes were cast (14 for Pressley, 8 for Capuano, 2 Present), no candidate ascertained the necessary 2/3 majority, so Ward 5 made no endorsement in the race.

Endorsement - Suffolk County District Attorney

The Chair recognized candidates to speak and take questions in the following order: Rachael Rollins, then Shannon McAuliffe, then Linda Champion.

The Chair then recognized Will Rasky, who spoke as a surrogate for candidate Greg Henning.

The Chair then recognized Tania Everton, who spoke as a surrogate for candidate Rep. Evandro Carvahlo.

Molly Hitt moved that we open the floor for endorsement, which motion was seconded by Rob Whitney.

Jay Livingstone nominated Rep. Evandro Carvalho, which motion was seconded by Tim Havel.

Kathy Judge nominated Rachael Rollins, which motion was seconded by Diane Barry

Alex's Bok nominated Greg Henning, which motion was seconded by Dan Lyon.

Ross Levanto nominated Shannon McAuliffe, which motion was seconded by Jon Spillane.

Molly HItt nominated Linda Champion, which motion was seconded by Matt Maddalo

Matt Maddalo moved to close nominations, which motion was seconded by Diane Barry. Motion passed.

Next there was discussion by the Ward, then Rob Whitney moved to for a roll call vote, which motion was seconded by Molly Hitt. Motion passed.

After votes were cast (9 Rollins, 6 McAuliffe, 5 Henning, 2 Carvalho), no candidate ascertained the necessary 2/3 majority, so Ward 5 made no endorsement in the race.

Endorsement - Governor's Council 6th District

The Chair recognized Councilor Terry Kennedy, who addressed the Ward, took questions, and asked for Ward 5's endorsement.

Matt Maddalo moved to open endorsements for the Governor's Council 6th District, which motion was seconded by Diane Barry.

Jay Livingston moved that Ward 5 endorse Councilor Terry Kennedy, which motion was seconded by Kathy Judge.

Ross Levanto moved to close endorsements, which motion was seconded by Coleman Lynds.

Diane Barry moved that Ward 5 endorse Councilor Terry Kennedy by acclamation vote, which motion was seconded by Ross Levanto. Motion passed.

Ward 5 endorses Councilor Terry Kennedy for the Governor's Council 6th District

Endorsement - 7th Suffolk District

The Chair recognized Rep. Chynah Tyler who addressed the Ward, took questions, and asked for Ward 5's endorsement.

Diane Barry moved to open endorsements which motion was seconded by Jay Livingstone.

Kristen Mobilia moved that Ward 5 endorse Rep Chynah Tyler, which motion was seconded by Kathy Judge

Jay Livingstone moved to close endorsements which motion was seconded by Diane Barry.

Diane Barry moved that Ward 5 endorse Rep. Chynah Tyler by acclamation, which motion was seconded by Ross Levanto. Motion passed.

Ward 5 endorses Rep. Chynah Tyler.

Approval of the Minutes

Requested amendments:

- Mike George, Rajan Nanda and Dan Lyon should be removed from the attendance list.
- Adrienne Zak should be added to the attendance list.
- Name spelling correction: Mollie Hitt should be Molly Hitt.

Matt Maddalo moved to approve the minutes as amended, which motion was seconded by John Spillane. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report

\$3500 balance in our accounts. Dues: about half the members are paid up. Encouragement to the rest to become current! We're current on expenses.

Campaign Activities

Report by The Chair. Encouragement for Ward members to be active in the campaigns of our endorsed candidates.

Next meeting: Tuesday September 18, 2018.

Ross Levanto moved to close the meeting, which motion was seconded by Jay Livingstone. Motion passed.

Attendance

Pat Amend
Diane Barry
Stephanie Biggs
Bob Binney
Alex Bok
Kenzie Bok
David Bunker
Andrea Burns
Cody Chamberlain
Linda Champion
Suzanne Comtois
Jeremy Cushman

Ann Chinchilla DeGeorge

Amaury Dujardin Sharon Durkan Aaron Dy

Tania Everton

Hilary Bacon Gabrieli

John Gabrieli Mike George Reynolds Graves

Tim Havel Natalie Heer

Molly Hitt Sharon Hucul Katherine Judge Connor Lentz Ross Levanto Jay Livingstone Coleman Lynds Daniel Lyon Matt Maddalo Shannon McAuliffe Kristen Mobilia Rajan Nanda Michael Pizziferri Rachael Rollins Winthrop Roosevelt Sandra Singer Dan Smith Jon Spillane Pat Vinter Rob Whitney David Xiao

Adrienne Zak