Upcoming . . . 

Our next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, October 17th.

The agenda for this month:

State Representative Jay Livingstone will give a special legislative update. After hearing from candidates Josh Zakim and Kristen Mobilia, we'll hold an endorsement vote for District 8 City Councilor. And, we'll consider some membership matters.

Past Events: 

--At our September 19th meeting, members chose to endorse Michelle Wu, Ayanna Pressley and Anissa Essaibi-George for City Council At-Large. The committee also voted to include Ross Levanto on the Executive Committee, replacing George Alex who has relocated outside of the city.

--If you were at our June 20th meeting, thank you for joining us. At that time, members voted to endorse Marty J. Walsh in the Mayoral race and Michael S. Kelley in the race for District 2 City Councilor.

 --The Massachusetts Democratic Convention, on Saturday, June 3rd, at the DCU Center in Worcester

--The 2017 Ward 5 Democratic Caucus

On Saturday March 18, 2017 at 10:00 a.m., The Boston Ward 5 Democratic Committee held the Ward 5 Delegate Caucus at the First Church of Boston, 66 Marlborough Street, Boston, to elect delegates for the upcoming State Democratic Convention on Saturday, June 3rd at the DCU Center in Worcester.

Ward 5 includes Beacon Hill, Bay Village, Back Bay, and parts of the South End, Chinatown and Fenway.

Any Democrat registered to vote within Boston’s Ward 5 was invited to attend and participate in the Caucus.

Those in attendance elected 9 female delegates, 9 male delegates, 2 alternate delegates, one delegate that could be either a male or a female, and one Committee-Designated Delegate (a Committee Officer).

Female Delegates:

Patricia Amend, Gretchen Bennett, Kathy Judge, Jessica Sullivan, Carole Bell, Andrea Burns, Emelia Encallado, Diane Barry, Elisha Fielding, Kristen Mobilia (Alternate), and Martha Walz (Alternate).          

Male Delegates:

Ross Levanto, Jon Spillane, Rob Whitney, Reynolds Graves, David Crossman, David Xiao, Aiden Nguyen, Bob Binner, Patrick McDonough, and Dan Lyons (M or F delegate).

Committee-Designated Delegate:

Sharon Durkan (Second Committee Vice-Chair)


To join the Friends of Ward 5 mailing list, email

If you have questions on this process, we are happy to answer them.